If an individual has had their license suspended or revoked for any reason in Texas, they will have to reinstate their license after their suspension period in order to operate a motor vehicle again. Operating a motor vehicle is an essential need for most people in Dallas, and failure to reinstate your license immediately after your suspension period is over could result in further interruption of your daily activities.
It is important to hire a Dallas DWI attorney to help you reinstate your license after a DWI conviction suspension or administrative license suspension. This process can take a lengthy period of time, and attempting to complete the process yourself could result in unnecessary delays in gaining your driving freedom.
Dallas License Reinstatement Lawyer
If your driver’s license was suspended for any reason and you want to reinstate in Dallas, or any of the surrounding areas in Texas, including Garland, Irving, Grand Prairie, Irving, Denton, Plano, McKinney, Fort Worth, Arlington, Mesquite, Carrolton, Richardson, Lewisville or Frisco, contact Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy.
Attorney Richard McConathy is an experienced DWI lawyer who will fight the underlying offense causing your license suspension and assist you reinstate your license. Call the Law Offices of Richard McConathy for a free consultation at (972) 233-5700 about your license suspension or revocation.
Dallas Offenses Requiring Suspension
Driving While Intoxicated – Tex. Transp. Penal Ann. § 49.04 – An individual can receive a license suspension if they operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated in a public place.
Administrative License Suspension – Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 724.035 – A driver’s license can be suspended if they refuse to submit to chemical testing of alcohol concentration in the blood or breath or agree to take an intoxication test but fail it.
Drive with a Suspended License – Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 521.457 – An individual’s license can be suspended or revoked for an additional period of time if they operate a motor vehicle while their license is suspended or revoked.
Intoxication Assault – Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.07 – An individual’s license can be suspended or revoked if they operate a motor vehicle while they are intoxicated and cause serious bodily injury to another person as a result of the intoxication.
Intoxication Manslaughter – Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.08 – An individual’s license can be suspended or revoked if they operate a motor vehicle while they are intoxicated and cause the death of another person as a result of the intoxication.
DWI with a Child Passenger – Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.045 – An individual’s license can be suspended or revoked if they operate a motor vehicle while they are intoxicated and have a passenger in their car who is under the age of 15.
License Suspension Periods in Dallas
If an individual has been convicted of a DWI offense in Dallas, their license can be suspended for the following time periods:
- 90 days to one year for a first DWI, first DWI with a child passenger, first intoxication assault and first DWI with an open container;
- 90 days to one year plus an additional one year for a second or subsequent intoxication assault within five years of any previous DWI contact;
- 180 days to two years for a first intoxication manslaughter and any second or subsequent DWI offense, except intoxication manslaughter;
- 180 days to two years plus an additional two years for a second or subsequent DWI manslaughter within a period of ten years;
- One to two years for a second or subsequent DWI offense within five years of any previous DWI contact; and
- One year for any DWI committed under the age of 21.
If an individual has an administrative license suspension from failure to pass an intoxication test or from refusal to submit to testing, their license can be suspended for the following time periods:
- 180 days for any first refusal;
- Two years for a second or subsequent refusal within ten years;
- 90 days for any first failure to pass an intoxication test;
- One year for any second or subsequent failure to pass an intoxication test within the preceding ten years;
- 60 days for a person under the age of 21 if they fail to pass an intoxication test with any amount of alcohol in their system;
- 120 days for a person under the age of 21 that has a previous DWI conviction if they fail to pass an intoxication test with any amount of alcohol in their system; and
- 180 days for a person under the age of 21 that has two or more previous DWI convictions if they fail to pass an intoxication test with any amount of alcohol in their system.
Dallas License Reinstatement Requirements
In order to reinstate a driver’s license after it has been suspended in Dallas for any DWI or traffic offenses, the individual’s license that has been suspended is required to wait until their suspension period is over and pay a reinstatement fee. The reinstatement fee for an administrative license suspension is $125 and the fee for DWI convictions or traffic offenses is $100.
If the driver’s license was suspended for a DWI related offense or an administrative license suspension, they will also be required to file and maintain proof of SR-22 vehicle insurance with the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) for two years. Additionally, certain offenders will be required to complete certain courses or programs before they can reinstate their license, such as a repeat offender’s education program.
Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy | Fort Worth Reinstating a License Attorney
Contact Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy today for a consultation about your DWI license revocation and reinstatement throughout Dallas County in Texas. Richard McConathy is an experienced Dallas DWI license suspension attorney who will do everything he can to try to get your license reinstated after it has been suspended.
Call (972) 233-5700 or fill out an online form for a consultation about your DWI license suspension throughout Dallas County in Texas and the surrounding counties of Denton County, Collin County, and Tarrant County.