(972) 233-5700 (office)

(888) 978-2756 (toll-free)

15110 N. Dallas Pkwy, #400
Dallas, TX  75248

primary location

With a 91% success rate on cases announced for trial since 2002, our attorneys are prepared to fight hard in your name.

Contact Our Offices

Schedule Your Free Consultation

*Free consultation applies only for active criminal cases seeking to retain the office

Felony DWI

Many driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses in Texas are felonies, and can result in serious criminal penalties and collateral consequences if an individual is convicted of a DWI felony offense. For example, a conviction for a felony DWI can lead to an inability to vote, hold public office, own or possess a gun, an inability to receive some types of governmental assistance, and/or limit certain types of professional occupations an individual can pursue.

Texas law requires Dallas County courts to order individuals who have been convicted of repeat DWI offenses within five years of one prior DWI offense to install an ignition interlock device on their car, or any cars they own and operate. This machine requires the driver to have an alcohol free breath reading after blowing into the machine before the car will start. The device also usually requires the driver to pull over and blow in the machine at various times throughout the car trip to make certain the vehicle operator has not been drinking while they were driving.

Warning: If you have refused to submit to chemical testing or failed a blood or breath intoxication test for DWI, you only have 15 days to request an administrative license suspension to get your license back.

Dallas Felony DWI Lawyer

If you have been charged with a felony DWI in Dallas, or any of the surrounding areas in Texas, including Decatur, Terrell, Weatherford, Sherman, Rockwall, Burleson, Waxahachie,Garland, Grand Prairie, Irving, Denton, Plano, McKinney, Fort Worth, Arlington, Mesquite, Carrolton, Richardson, Lewisville or Frisco, contact Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy. Attorney Richard McConathy is knowledgeable in all areas of Texas’ felony DWI laws and will make every effort to help you avoid the most serious penalties and punishments for your alleged offense.

Call Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy for a free consultation at (972) 233-5700 about your alleged felony DWI offense. Let us help you through this difficult situation.


Dallas Felony DWI Information Center


Back to top

Texas Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

Under Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.04, a basic driving while intoxicated (DWI or DUI) offense can occur of an individual operates their vehicle in a public place while they are intoxicated.

DWI charges can often involve additional elements, such as causing death or injury from DWI or DWI with a minor in the car that can often result in felony charges with very serious repercussions.


Back to top

Felony DWI Offenses in Dallas

  • Driving While Intoxicated with a Child Passenger, Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.045 — An individual can be charged with this offense if they are driving while intoxicated and they have a passenger in their car who is younger than 15 years old. This offense is punishable as a state jail penalty.
  • Intoxication Assault, Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.07 — An individual can be charged with this offense if, while operating a vehicle when they are intoxicated, they cause serious bodily injury to another person because they were intoxicated. It does not matter if they cause the injury by accident or mistake. This offense is punishable by a felony of the third degree. However, if the individual causes the injury to a peace officer, firefighter, or emergency medical personnel, this offense is punishable as a felony of the second degree.
  • Intoxication Manslaughter, Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.08 — An individual can be charged with this offense if they drive while intoxicated, and as a result of the intoxication, they cause the death of another person. It does not matter if the death was caused by mistake or accident. This offense is punishable by a felony of the second degree. However, if the individual causes death to a peace officer, firefighter, or emergency medical personnel, this offense is punishable as a felony of the first degree.
  • Repeat DWI Offenses, Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 49.09(b) — An individual can be charged with this offense if they have previously been convicted of two or more previous DWI offenses, or if they previously committed an intoxication manslaughter. This offense is punishable by a felony of the third degree.


Back to top

Penalties for a Felony DWI Conviction in Texas

An individual who has been charged with a felony DWI can face serious penalties and repercussions under Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code. These penalties can vary depending on the degree of the felony offense. The following are Texas’ statutory minimum penalties for felony DWI offenses.

A state jail felony DWI offense in Dallas can result in a mandatory minimum jail sentence from 180 days to two years. This degree felony can also result in a fine up to $10,000.

A third degree felony DWI offense in Dallas can result in a mandatory minimum prison term of two years, but can increase to a maximum prison term of ten years. This degree felony can also result in a fine up to $10,000.

A second degree felony DWI offense in Dallas can result in a mandatory minimum prison term of two years, but can increase to a maximum prison term of 20 years. This degree felony can also result in a fine up to $10,000.

A first degree felony DWI offense in Dallas can result in a mandatory minimum prison term of five years, but can increase to a maximum prison term of 99 years or life imprisonment. This degree felony can also result in a fine up to $10,000.


Back to top

Felony DWI Driver’s License Suspension

According to Tex. Transp. Code § 521.344, an individual’s driver’s license can be suspended upon the conviction of any DWI offense. The suspension is to begin no earlier than the date of conviction and no later than the 30th day after conviction. The following is the standard time period for driver’s license suspension for felony DWI offense convictions:

  • First DWI with a Child Passenger — 90 days to one year
  • First Intoxication Assault — 90 days to one year
  • Repeat Felony DWI Offenses — 180 days to two years
  • Repeat Felony DWI Offenses (within five years of a preceding offense) — One to two years
  • Second or Subsequent DWI Assault (within five years of a preceding offense) — 90 days to one plus an additional one year
  • First Intoxication Manslaughter — 180 days to two years
  • Second or Subsequent Intoxication Manslaughter (within ten years of a preceding offense) — One to two years

Back to top

Texas DWI Repeat Offender Class

An individual who has more than one DWI, which is a felony offense if an individual has two or more previous DWIs, is required to attend a repeat offender alcohol or drug education program.

If a repeat felony DWI offender fails to attend the DWI repeat offender class, their license will be revoked until they have completed the program, according to Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 42.12(13)(j).

The class is typically around 32 hours long and was created to intervene with an alcohol or substance abuser in order to encourage entry into treatment if necessary in order to prevent further substance abuse problems.

Some of the courses covered in this class include values, self-esteem, responsibility, alcoholism, physiological and psychological effects of drugs, chemical dependency, effects on family members, co-dependency, peer pressure, treatment options, relapse prevention and lifestyle issues.


Back to top

Felony DWI Resources in Dallas

Texas Constitution and Statutes – This link is to chapter 49 of the Texas Penal Code, which defines the state’s intoxication laws and penalties that can result from a conviction, including felony driving while intoxicated offenses in Texas and the potential penalties for a conviction.

Dallas County District Clerk – This link provides individuals access to their criminal records and criminal case information, miscellaneous court information and resources about the justice system throughout Dallas County. The Criminal District Courthouse is located at:

Frank Crowley Criminal Building
133 N. Riverfront Blvd.
Dallas, Texas 75207
Phone: (214) 653-5960

Denton County District Clerk – This link allows individuals to access to their criminal records and felony criminal case information, miscellaneous court information and resources about the justice system throughout Denton County. The criminal courts are located at:

Denton County Courts Building
1450 E. McKinney St.
Denton, Texas 76209
Phone: (940) 349-2200

Back to top

Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy | Fort Worth Felony DUI Attorney

Contact Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy today for a consultation about your felony drinking and driving offense throughout Dallas County in Texas. Richard McConathy is an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Dallas who will make every effort to help you avoid the most serious penalties and repercussions.

Contact Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy at (972) 233-5700 for a consultation about your alleged felony DWI throughout Dallas County in Texas and the surrounding counties of Denton County, Collin County,Wise County, Kaufman County, Parker County, Grayson County, Rockwall County, Johnson County, Ellis County, and Tarrant County.


Back to top

Contact Our Offices

Schedule Your Free Consultation

*Free consultation applies only for active criminal cases seeking to retain the office

Office Locations
The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy PLLC, Attorneys & Lawyers, Dallas, TX

Client Reviews & Testimonials

Read More Client Testimonials