If you have been accused of committing a sexual offense in Dallas, it is important to immediately contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer. Sex crime charges can result in harsh punishments if the alleged offender is convicted of the offense, including prison sentences, fines, a criminal record, sex offender registration requirements, an inability to pursue certain professions and occupations, ineligibility to be admitted into certain graduate school programs and colleges, and a negative impact on personal and business relationships.
Even if your alleged offense was accidentally or unintentionally committed, or you were unaware you were doing anything illegal, it is essential to create your best defense in order to avoid the most serious penalties and lasting consequences to your sex crime accusations.
Dallas Sexual Offenses Lawyer
If you have been charged with a sex crime in Dallas, or any of the surrounding areas in Texas, including Garland, Irving, Grand Prairie, Denton, Plano, McKinney, Fort Worth,Decatur, Terrell, Weatherford, Sherman, Rockwall, Burleson, Waxahachie, Arlington, Mesquite, Carrolton, Richardson, Lewisville or Frisco, contact The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy.
Attorney Richard McConathy will fight the allegations against you and make every effort to achieve the most desirable outcome for your particular situation. Call The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy for a free consultation at (972) 233-5700 about alleged sex offense.
Dallas Sex Crimes Information Center
- Dallas Solicitation and Prostitution Crimes
- Sexual Assault Offenses in Dallas
- Public Nudity Offenses in Dallas
- Dallas Child Sex Offenses
- Sex Offender Registration in Texas
- Dallas Resources for Sex Offenses
If you have been accused of soliciting sex, hiring a prostitute, acting as a pimp or engaging in prostitution, you can be charged with prostitution under Tex. Penal Code § 43.02. An individual can be charged with this offense if they:
- Knowingly engage in sexual conduct for a fee,
- Offer to engage in sexual conduct for a fee,
- Agree to engage in sexual conduct for a fee, or
- Solicit another person in a public place to engage in sexual conduct for hire.
A first offense is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine not more than $2,000.
This offense is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor if the alleged offender has previously been convicted one or two times. A Class A misdemeanor prostitution offense is punishable by up to one year jail and/or a fine up to $4,000
A fourth or subsequent prostitution offense is punishable as a state jail felony, which can result in a jail sentence from 180 days to two years and/or a fine up to $10,000.
Sexual assault allegations are very serious, and can lead to life prison sentence if the alleged offender is convicted of the offense. Sexual assault offenses are commonly known as rape or statutory rape.
An individual can be charged with sexual assault under section 22.011 of the Texas Penal Code if they intentionally or knowingly penetrate, or cause to be penetrated, the mouth, sexual organs or anus without that person’s consent, by any means.
A conviction for this offense can generally result in a felony of the second, which is punishable by two to 20 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000. The offense can be increased to a felony of the first degree if the alleged offender was prohibited from marrying the individual they committed the assault against, which is punishable by a fine not more than $10,000 and/or five to 99 years or life imprisonment.
An individual can be charged with aggravated sexual assault, according to Tex. Penal Code § 22.021, if they commit the offense of sexual assault and:
- Cause serious bodily injury or attempt to cause the death of the victim;
- Cause the victim to be fearful their life is in danger, they will receive serious bodily injury or will be kidnapped;
- Use a deadly weapon during the commission of the offense;
- Threaten to cause death, serious bodily injury or kidnapping;
- Use roofies, rohypnol, the Date Rape drug, ketamine, or GHB GHB or during the commission of the offense;
- The victim is 14 years old or younger; or
- The victim is elderly or disabled.
This offense is punishable as a felony of the first degree, which is punishable by a fine up to $10,000 and/or five to 99 years in prison or life imprisonment.
Many times, public nudity offenses throughout Texas are innocent pranks or seemingly harmless acts; however, these offenses can also lead to serious repercussions and possible requirements to register as a sex offender.
An individual can be charged with indecent exposure (Tex. Penal Code § 21.08) if they expose any part of their genitals with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person, in a reckless manner, or without regard if any other person who is present might be offended by the act. This offense is punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, which can result in up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2,000.
An individual can be charged with public lewdness, as defined in Tex. Penal Code § 21.07, if they knowingly and while in a public place:
- Engage in sexual intercourse,
- Engage in deviate sexual intercourse,
- Engage in an act of sexual conduct, or
- Engage in a sexual act with an animal.
An individual can also be charged with public lewdness if they recklessly engage in any of the preceding acts in a private place without regard for who is present and might be alarmed or offended by the act. This offense is punishable as a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in up to one year jail and/or a fine up to $4,000.
According to Tex. Penal Code § 21.11, an individual can be charged with indecency with a child if they engage in sexual contact with a child, expose their genitals with a child present, or expose a child’s genitals with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person.
This offense is punishable as a felony of the second degree, which can result in two to 20 years in prison and/or a fine not more than $10,000, if the alleged offender engaged in sexual contact with a child. Otherwise, this offense is punishable as a felony of the third degree, which can result in two to ten years in prison and/or a fine not more than $10,000.
As defined in Tex. Penal Code § 43.26, an individual can be charged with possession of child porn or child pornography if they knowingly or intentionally possess material that visually depicts a child under the age of 18 engaging in sexual conduct, and the alleged offender knows the material depicts a child that is under the age of 18.
This offense is generally punishable as a felony of the third degree, which can result in a prison sentence from two to ten years and/or a fine up to $10,000. However, this offense is punishable as a felony of the second degree if the alleged offender promoted the child pornography, which can result in a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 and/or a fine not more than $10,000.
According to Chapter 62 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, anyone who is convicted of a sexual offense in Texas is required to register with their local law enforcement authority for a specific period of time, depending on the severity of the sexual offense they were convicted of.
A convicted sex offender is required to register for life if they were convicted of any of the following sexually violence offenses:
- Aggravated kidnapping,
- Aggravated sexual assault,
- Compelling prostitution of a minor,
- Indecency with a child by contact,
- Indecency with a child by exposure,
- Possession or promotion of child pornography,
- Sexual assault, and
- Sexual performance by a child.
A convicted sex offender must register for ten years if they are convicted of any of the following:
- Any sex offense not requiring lifetime registration,
- Attempted sexual assault,
- Compelling prostitution,
- Second indecent exposure conviction, and
- Unlawful restraint.
Texas Penal Code – Sex Crimes – This link is the Texas Penal Code in the Texas Statutes, which contains the laws regarding sexual offenses in Texas. This link is directly to Chapter 21, which defines many sex crimes, including public indecency, indecency with a child and public lewdness.
The Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers – This national organization’s goal is to prevent sexual abuse through education, learning and shared research on public policies and community strategies, and endorses effective treatment and management of sex offenders.
Texas Sex Offender Registration Program – This link provides information on Texas’ sex offender registration program, and includes information on registration requirements, frequently asked questions, and access to look up sex offenders throughout Dallas County.
The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy | Fort Worth Sex Crime Attorney
Contact The Law Offices of Richard C. McConathy today for a consultation about your alleged sex offense throughout Dallas County in Texas. Richard McConathy is an experienced criminal defense attorney in Dallas who will help you create your best legal strategy and make every effort to have your charges reduced or even dismissed.
Call (972) 233-5700 or submit an online form for a consultation about your alleged sex crime throughout Dallas County in Texas and the surrounding counties of Denton County, Collin CountyWise County, Kaufman County, Parker County, Grayson County, Rockwall County, Johnson County, Ellis County and Tarrant County.